FK9 Mk IV

Gday all. I did my first flight today. It was in a FK9 MkIV. Typic 2 seater trainer from Germany. Just wondering if anyone else is training in one? And what do you think of it as you go further down the training path. It was my first flight in it, but seemd to be nice enough to fly.

Cheers

Craig

My Jabiru shares a hangar with an FK9. I know heaps of folks who have flown the plane and like it. Some say the flap speed is so low that you have to get them up real quick after take-off. One day I'll get a ride in the thing.

I am signed off on that type.Jabiru 7252 has said it all.At Gawler we preferred not to use flaps for take off when the prop was adjusted for climb,however when they changed it to cruise we would use flaps but quickly retract them.The aircraft tends to have a steep nose in a climb.

The aircraft tends to have a steep nose in a climb.

As Im just starting out. Could you explain what you mean by "tents to have a steep nose in a climb"

Cheers

I would say high angle of attack but not in a tent. If flap retract is slow that will keep AoA lower & require more back pressure to climb. Perhaps higher gearing on the flap extend/retract mechanism would help.

• Haha 1

As Im just starting out. Could you explain what you mean by "tents to have a steep nose in a climb"

Cheers

You made a typo which  has changed the meaning.Anywhere you will realise what i meant when you fly a different type.Dont worry about it.

There is no "aircraft tends to have a steep nose in a climb" - this is either a conscious decision by the pilot  eg to clear a hazard OR a failure by the same to make appropriate control inputs.

For the FK9 if you climb at stated climb speeds when the prop is configured to climb,you will have a much higher nose attitude.You will basically have no forward vision.All you see is blue.As a result you end up climbing at higher speeds when you lower your nose to have that forward vision.