TSR-2 The Story.

Britain survived two world wars despite ongoing animosities and jealousies between services.

The Army’s control of things with wings early in WW1

The “Senior Service” argued against budget provisions for the RAF after its creation

The RAFs attempts to scuttle the Naval air service between wars

The RAFs depletion of naval pilots to bolster its own under-resourced ranks in WWII

The RAFs frustration over Army controlling the AOPs in WWII and failure to compliment the little Austers with some sort of retaliatory ability

Shift by Army to helicopters (unarmed) opposed by RAF but Army persevered eventually getting gunships.

And on it goes.

• Agree 1

Back then I was an apprentice with Ferranti, the company that built the radar equipment. When the project was cancelled, they had to complete all of the contracted radar sets, then they were taken out and destroyed. All governments are brilliant at wasting taxpayers money. At the time they were cancelled I believe the idea was that they would buy the F111. Don’t know who got the backhander from the US for that but I would take a bet that someone did. In the end they didn’t buy the F111 either because of design delays with the swing wing. American consultant at Ferranti at the time said they wished they had never heard of Barnes-Wallis.

• Like 1
  • Informative 1

TSR2 and the Canadian Avro Arrow. Two aircraft potentially better than anything the Yanks had at the time. Guess where the pressure came from to destroy both designs.033_scratching_head.gif.92f700cf00fb9c6c6818598d44101896.gif

• 10 months later...