Human factors and long flights

SGM

Would you fly over 7 hours in a day?  

19 members have voted

1. 1. Would you fly over 7 hours in a day?

I'm planning (another) trip flying Melbourne to Gold Coast.  It works out at about 440 minutes (7 hours 20 minutes) of flight time, no autopilot.  I've done before (once up, once back), but as a comparatively low-time pilot I have previously had a passenger and overnight stop halfway.

This time I am solo and I am interested to know whether others have done... (trying poll feature)

I've driven a lot longer than that when I was younger but driving a motor vehicle on land is a lot more stimulating than flying straight and level. I think it'd be a risky move if you're not used to long stints. I once drove in the Get With The Strength, Commonwealth Bank rally that was over 1000km in a night. Another time I did nine hours Brisbane to Sydney via the New England Highway but on both of these occasions I was driving flat-out so no chance of dropping to sleep.

I take it you're talking about doing it non-stop?

Edited by Moneybox
  • Informative 2

Flying seven hours in a day on a commercial flight/s is tiring enough. Why would you do it in a light aircraft? I know plenty of people do, but it’s not my idea of a good time. No doubt age is a factor. I’ve done 3-1/2 hour flights, but after landing, tying down, organising fuel and accommodation I’m ready to head for the bar for some lemonade.

• Like 2

I've done 7 hours in one day solo in a microlight but I was 12 years younger and 4 other microlights were doing the same trip so we could support each other along the way, I wouldnt do it now

Plan to overnight if needed and listen to your body

Edited by Red
  • Like 1
  • Agree 1

Wouldn't it be more constructive,  to see more of the places you have flown over .

Lots of coffee stops , to visit .

Possibly a few ' formulates ' would welcome your visit .  ( hint hint ) .

Remember " long distance solo sailers go mad " .

spacesailor