AvMap Ultra EFIS

scre80

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2015
Messages
319
Ratings
267 1
Location
Gawler
Country
Country
#1
Hi All,

I have purchased a AvMap Ultra EFIS after many months of thinking about it. Will start installing it tomorrow. Will let you all know what it is like and how well it functions.

Ultra EFIS
 

rmorton

Active Member
Joined
Dec 7, 2015
Messages
230
Ratings
69 1
Location
Crozet
Country
Country
#2
I look forward to that, I have considered them as they to have a good reputation although old technology(like me).
 

cscotthendry

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2009
Messages
1,683
Ratings
1,739 22
Country
Country
#3
I have an AvMap GPS installed from new in my airplane. I've had some issues with it. Their software seems a bit buggy to me, but their tech support are very friendly and help as much as they can.
 

skippydiesel

Active Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2010
Messages
458
Ratings
265 5
#5
Installed, and tested on the ground. Tomorrow is the compass calibration and test flight.
I have had the Ultra EFIS in my aircraft for about two years now - no real problems. Some of the function displays are a bit small, for my aging eyesight, to be really useful.

It would be great if the AH could be calibrated in the air, when level flight has been established.

I found the calibration of compass (4 points rather than two) at flight attitude to be a pain the the proverbial. Much jacking and swearing.
 

scre80

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2015
Messages
319
Ratings
267 1
Location
Gawler
Country
Country
#6
I have had the Ultra EFIS in my aircraft for about two years now - no real problems. Some of the function displays are a bit small, for my aging eyesight, to be really useful.

It would be great if the AH could be calibrated in the air, when level flight has been established.

I found the calibration of compass (4 points rather than two) at flight attitude to be a pain the the proverbial. Much jacking and swearing.
Well I went to calibrate the compass, it said it passed but it seems not as it is still saying COG. Did you have to do it a few times and any advice? Figured already it is a 2 person job.
 

skippydiesel

Active Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2010
Messages
458
Ratings
265 5
#7
Well I went to calibrate the compass, it said it passed but it seems not as it is still saying COG. Did you have to do it a few times and any advice? Figured already it is a 2 person job.
Yep! definitely a lot easier with two or more people.

If I remember correctly it took me (& my son) several goes to get it right. I think the first attempt(s) were a little to influenced by GA "swinging the compass" technique.

Unless later models have changed, the Ultra required "zeroing" on each of the 4 cardinal points with the aircraft at or near, level flight attitude.

I established my AH level flight attitude first - then calibrated my compass well away from any ferrous structures and with all my electrical systems turned on.

In the end we did the unmanly thing and followed the instructions to the letter. Got the desired result.

Good Luck!
 

scre80

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2015
Messages
319
Ratings
267 1
Location
Gawler
Country
Country
#8
Yep! definitely a lot easier with two or more people.

If I remember correctly it took me (& my son) several goes to get it right. I think the first attempt(s) were a little to influenced by GA "swinging the compass" technique.

Unless later models have changed, the Ultra required "zeroing" on each of the 4 cardinal points with the aircraft at or near, level flight attitude.

I established my AH level flight attitude first - then calibrated my compass well away from any ferrous structures and with all my electrical systems turned on.

In the end we did the unmanly thing and followed the instructions to the letter. Got the desired result.

Good Luck!
Thanks for that. We followed the instructions but seems it did not take. Further reading says it can take a few goes. SO back to the airfield for another go. Also out of interest, did you purchase an updated POI database? or do you use the HSI?
 

skippydiesel

Active Member
Joined
Aug 9, 2010
Messages
458
Ratings
265 5
#9
Thanks for that. We followed the instructions but seems it did not take. Further reading says it can take a few goes. SO back to the airfield for another go. Also out of interest, did you purchase an updated POI database? or do you use the HSI?
Yes I did get the update.
 

cscotthendry

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2009
Messages
1,683
Ratings
1,739 22
Country
Country
#10
I've now been working with the AvMap tech support people for about 18 months and they still haven't sorted out the heading freeze issue. It appears to me that the AvMap EKP is just a program running on Windows CE and using third party external antennas. The system is buggy and doesn't work particularly well. They seem to be trying to pin the problem on the external antenna, but they don't seem to know what it is.

Do yourself a favor, don't buy an AvMap GPS.
 

scre80

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2015
Messages
319
Ratings
267 1
Location
Gawler
Country
Country
#11
I've now been working with the AvMap tech support people for about 18 months and they still haven't sorted out the heading freeze issue. It appears to me that the AvMap EKP is just a program running on Windows CE and using third party external antennas. The system is buggy and doesn't work particularly well. They seem to be trying to pin the problem on the external antenna, but they don't seem to know what it is.

Do yourself a favor, don't buy an AvMap GPS.
After using the AvMap EFIS for 4 months, very happy with it.
 
Joined
Oct 9, 2016
Messages
33
Ratings
45 1
Location
EHTE
Country
Country
#13
My AvMap EFIS has been running fine for 1.5 years. Never bothered to set up the compass, got a magnetic one anyway.
Also had an AvMap V GPS. Buggy software, froze mid-air with no way to reset. Returned it for refund.
 

Garfly

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2011
Messages
487
Ratings
521 5
Location
LAKE MACQUARIE, NSW
Country
Country
#14
I think the main use of the electronic compass is to enable real-time winds-aloft display.
(And probably very much worth the effort.)
Otherwise, I can't think of a practical use for electronic HDG when you've already got reliable TRK.
 

cscotthendry

Well-Known Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2009
Messages
1,683
Ratings
1,739 22
Country
Country
#16
My AvMap EKP V works fine and I have the optional AHRS for it and it works perfect as well
Around the local area the EKP works as advertised. On long trips is where things start to go wnorg. After 1-1/2 - 2 hrs, the update of the heading line starts to slow down. It gets to where it updates about every 2-3 minutes! In two minutes I can do a standard rate 360 and the poor old GPS is none the wiser.
P1070982 (Copy).JPG
At this point the heading appears frozen and shows why you shouldn't rely on GPS for navigation cross country. I never had problems like this with my previous GPS.
I've had other problems with this GPS also, where it allows settings that either conflict with other parameters and settings or that shouldn't cause problems. One of those is the WAAS/EGNOS setting. If you set this to ON in Australia, it causes the GPS to lose lock on the satellites all the time as it searches the signal for the correction info, that is not available here.
WAAS/EGNOS relies on ground stations transmitting correction data to the GPS satellites, which then send a corrected signal to your GPS. We don't have them in Oz (to the best of my knowledge) and so the GPS should ignore or not allow that setting here ... but it doesn't.
Another minor annoyance is that in parts of Europe (where these GPS are made) airport codes start with "L". So when you do a search for an airport, to set up a flight plan, the default starting letter is "L" so you have to scroll the thumbwheel around to "Y" which our airfields start with every time! I haven't found a way to change this default behavior yet.
It's just stuff like that, that bug me with this thing. When I'm concentrating on flying the plane, little irritations like these get magnified and they add up.
 
Last edited:

Nobags

New Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2016
Messages
9
Ratings
3
Location
Noosaville
Country
Country
#18
Anyone added a different database to the other than the Jeppersen one?
AvMap Ultra EFIS
Love to buy one but the HSI Page is not what I want.
Just imagine if it had a map and oz runways on it ..... yohooo!
 

scre80

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2015
Messages
319
Ratings
267 1
Location
Gawler
Country
Country
#19
Anyone added a different database to the other than the Jeppersen one?
AvMap Ultra EFIS
Love to buy one but the HSI Page is not what I want.
Just imagine if it had a map and oz runways on it ..... yohooo!
I don't use hsi page that much, more my backup if ozrunways iPad and phone stop working, and paper map lost!!
 

Nobags

New Member
Joined
Apr 24, 2016
Messages
9
Ratings
3
Location
Noosaville
Country
Country
#20
I don't use hsi page that much, more my backup if ozrunways iPad and phone stop working, and paper map lost!!
That’s my point if the HSI Page was improved to be able to download Ozrwys or other I’d be in there quicker than flesh Gordon!