Flying wings

Hi All,

Anybody got any thoughts on flying wings as ultralights?

As far as I can see there have been a few attemps at a viable solution but nothing thats founda life. I think one of the originals was the "sun ray 100" from Sun aerospace in the States. I also found the "Facet Opal" and a French one called "The Pellican"

I've been playing with some sketches of a canard flying wing and whilst I'd be the first to admit, I'm no engineer, it sure looks like it should fly.

Anybody want to venture beyond the envelope?

David

Ahh Yes, flying wings, a man after my own heart.

If you haven't already been there, you want to look at the following link at the Homebuilt Airplanes Forum site (and other threads) which has much talk of flying wing design(s). 024_cool.gif.7a88a3168ebd868f5549631161e2b369.gif

I should point out though that you either want a flying wing, or a canard, you can't have both on the same plane.

Also have a look at the TWITT site, lots of good info and history. ;)

Arthur.

Guest ozzie

i have a very rare air to air photo of Scotts Opal on the yahoo groups site classic ultralights, to big to post here. ozzie

Guest micgrace

Hi

great to see someone with some unconventional ideas.

Actually I was quite impressed by UFO (the flying disc/wing/prop version, not the gov. coverup version)

Interesting to see that conventional control surfaces are incorporated into UFO. Anyone throw any insight onto it? Apart from what was in the mag a little while ago.

Micgracesmiley1.gif

Micgracesmiley1.gif micgrace

• 4 weeks later...
too big to post here

Hey Ozzie, have you got photoshop?

If you have scanned a picture, dump into photoshop, and under the File control, use Save for Web and use the Quality control to reduce the picture size to under 150k.

We would like to see any photo's of the OPAL :big_grin:

Arthur.

about 6 yrs ago at narromine i bought a video, chris Conroys Air Australia IV.