flying fleas

Guest Guest

Guest Guest

hi everyone,

I am new to computers so bear with me please.

I am also a flying flea fan and I believe the only pilot in Oz to have flown a HM1000 Balerit,2 seater.and been endorsed on it.

I am looking for people who are like minded for exchange of ideas etc,I am also constructing a 2 seater flying flea.Afew people have already contacted me on the subject construction and operation of that sort of acft,you are welcome to do likewise.

I am looking for any flying fleas in any condition,for refurbishing and use by our group members.

happy flying,better landings,

flying fleas qld

Guest ozzie

Try looking up Bob Cornwell from Weston in the Hunter Valley NSW. Hehas built a Flea and loves to have a chat.

Welcome to the forums flying fleas - I don't know about others but I am really learning a lot about all the different types of aircraft that you all are bringing up here - enjoy your stay!

G'day Andre.

Welcome to the group. I didn't know any flying fleas were still airborne, hope they have solved the stability problems and would love to see one flying. I will no doubt be going through Gympie sometime, where do you fly from.

Ian

Guest Guest

hi Ian,

the stability problem was solved around 1936 if my flagging memory serves me right.the problem was that at high speed the front wing acted as a spinnacker over the rear wing and literaly sucked it up.Oulling on the controls only increased the effect resulting in an uncontrolable dive.The only possible way out would have been by going into an inverted loop,not an easy thing to do in a flea.

I hope this has corrected somme of the apprehentions and myth surrounding this marvellous type of aircraft.

We fly out a private airstrip nw of Ygym.

Ayone welcome to call in and have a chat.

happy flying and better landings,

Andre

We had a 503 powered Flea flying around at The Oaks about 5 years ago.