What is the easiest trainer to learn on?

What is the easiest plane to learn on?

I run a school using 2 Jabiru's and would like to get a type that is going to make it easier for "mature age" students to get a start on.

What would people out there suggest?

Hi Blueline

As a mature age student I did my initial RAA training in an early model Jab.That Jabhad 5 hours on it whenI started in 2004 with low flying experience in mostly gliders of about 200 hours going back to 1971. It drove me nuts for a while especially in the verticalpitch. I purposedly took most of my lessons in mid afternoon. One of the cross country training flights was to Ballarat where I tucked in behind a local Jab doing crosswind landings on 23.

I have had one flight in a J160 with a 2200 motor of about half an hour duration and it is a different aircraft in pitch compared to the 470 Kg MTOW Jab.Not nearly as twitchy as the early model Jabs. A few more horses would be nice with the increase in MTOW.

Despite being quite different from the early Jab I felt after that short flight in the owner built J160that it was just like the early model jabs to fly but without the instability. That may or may not be a good thing from an instructors point of view in trying to get a student to keep alert as to what his aircraft is doing.

Regards

Roger - At mid 40's I started on a Jab and after 7hrs I was almost going to give it away as I felt flying wasn't what I thought it would be. My wife convinced me to try another school and aircraft. I ended up training in a Gazelle which I felt was suited to my learning ability and style. I think the reasoning behind this is that I felt I was making gradual gains in my flying so I felt that there was a light at the end of the tunnel and I really was achieving something that was possible - all things that I wasn't getting when in the Jab.